⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 5 star natural cork zero-plastic yoga mats
FREE carbon neutral shipping on orders over $120
REWILD Earth order to plant native trees & save ocean plastic

Astrology and the Horoscope

Astrology and the Horoscope

Astrology is making a comeback in online culture, and we are so into it! If you want to know about the practice behind your horoscope, our team at Eartha is here to tell you all about it.

You will have seen horoscope columns in newspapers, magazines, and lately, in internet memes. Astrology is a method of future-telling where practitioners look to the sun, moon, and planets to forecast events. The idea behind it is that celestial bodies can and do influence our earthly affairs.

Astrology, through its exploration of numbers, dates, and stars, centres on the twelve signs of the zodiac. 

Zodiac signs


The twelve signs of the zodiac follow a circular path symbolizing the sun’s movement around the earth. The zodiac accounts for the placement of the sun, moon, and stars at the time of each individual’s birth. It not only encompasses your star sign, but also your moon and rising signs. 

The twelve signs are:

  • Aries (The ram)
  • Taurus (The bull)
  • Gemini (The twins)
  • Cancer (The crab)
  • Leo (The lion)
  • Virgo (The virgin
  • Libra (The scales)
  • Scorpio (The scorpion)
  • Sagittarius (The archer)
  • Capricorn (The goat)
  • Aquarius (The water-bearer)
  • Pisces (Two fishes)

You can find out all of these signs by looking at your astrological natal chart. Depending on where each celestial body was in the sky when you were born, you will find them within a segment of the chart delineated by a zodiac sign. There are also twelve houses in the horoscope that represent an aspect of your life.

Sun signs

Sun signs

Sun signs, also known as star signs, are a crucial part of your being, and you will find this type on most horoscopes. The sun encompasses self-image, self-esteem, your identity, and your ego. When you understand your sun sign, you can better understand your life path.

Moon signs

Moon signs

The bold sun signs may stand out more as your core attributes, but your moon sign is just as important. It talks more about your inner feelings and intuitions. Many people think of their moon sign as their inner emotional compass in the way it creates a filter through which we look at our lives.

Rising signs

Rising signs

You can find out your rising sign by finding out what time you were born. The complicated thing about rising signs is that they change every day. Your rising sign is what people see when they meet you, the “mask” you put on, your approach to life, your brand.

The ancient zodiac

People have been following the zodiac since the first millennium BCE, in Babylonian times. Each of the twelve signs goes in one of four groups based on the four astrological elements: earth, fire, water, and air. 

Fire signs (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius)

Fire signs

Typically, fire signs have dynamic energy. Think of any fiery metaphor, and you’ll be able to apply it to a fire sign. It is considered a “yang” or masculine element. People with fire zodiac signs are passionate, impulsive, and temperamental. Fire signs should be nurtured with love and managed carefully.

Water signs (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces)

Water signs

The element of water symbolizes emotions, memory, and intuition. It has inextricable links to the moon and tides and is a feminine or “yin” element. Water signs are sensitive, mysterious, and loving. They are highly empathetic and can be intense.

Earth signs (Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn)

Earth signs

Like crystals and the earth itself, people with earth horoscopes are steady and corporeal. They deal with the physical and tangible world, channelling yin energy through a combination of practicality and sensuality. Don’t be fooled into thinking earth signs are slow - many cultures consider transcendental thought to only be achievable from a solid foundation. 

Air signs (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius)


Communicative and intellectual, air signs manifest yang energy in a different way to fire. Air signs are creative and imaginative, able to think outside the box and let their ideas travel to interesting places. They love change, action, and can blow away the people around them.

Your horoscope

When you work out your birth chart, also known as your horoscope, you can learn a lot about yourself. Many online resources can help you place your birth chart. 

You can use whatever you learn from your horoscope as a tool to guide you through your life. Many people wholeheartedly believe in the zodiac, while others take it a little more lightly. Either way, your horoscope can be a helping hand to provide you with more focus on your goals and your place in the world.

At Eartha, we encourage people to get more attuned with themselves and the environment. With our sustainable products, we promote an ethos of taking steps to be more caring and eco-conscious. Starting with your horoscope, you can increase your inner awareness today!